Sign up to become an UberX driver today and reach your career goals with this newfound flexibility!

Uber and UberX driver signup - Get bonus after completing qualified trips. Click here

Sunday, August 16, 2015

New Uber app update is unsuccessful

Uber revamped their ride app a few weeks ago. This platform update is unsuccessful. The name of client is shown on the bottom of the screen along with the time to reach destination and/or pickup address.

Most ridesharing drivers look up rather than down. Safe eyes are trained to stay up. However, this new Uber app update positions the client name and time of arrival on the bottom.

Ridesharing drivers are thus forced to glance down. Instead of keeping client name and time on top, which is highly recommended, Uber replaced ETA with "On Trip" and/or "En Route" to make this information clear to drivers.

Why is this so important? It is possible that this piece of information informs all drivers of current trips and en route for insurance coverage reasons. Do you know that ridesharing companies set insurance coverage for different parts of trips? And this is necessary to ensure passengers are protected under the top insurance coverage possible.

Read about ridesharing insurance coverage to better understand how much and what part of trips are covered under state and ridesharing laws. Familiarize yourself with this insurance cover to protect yourself legally and financially. We are not licensed to give legal advice.

This new Uber app update requires a driver to reach the client pickup point. If this not done, the app won't notify the client of the driver's arrival. The ride app still experiences location issues. Therefore, the GPS pinpoints a few clients at different addresses such as another side street and/or the adjacent street next to the intended address.

Once client enters the Uber ride, the swipe activates the destination. No driver can see the destination without starting a trip. This most likely protects the client against ride profiling based on short rides and trips that are further outside of the driver's region. If trips are shown, a driver can/will know the price and the final destination. As a result of this, the driver can reject this ride request and move on to the next client. Another swipe is required to end a trip. These swipes mirror Lyft's swipe option.

Drivers may see client rating. Before this recent app update, all drivers were given access to client ratings. An Uber driver shared that they can't see all driver ratings. This is a problem, as this information helps ridesharing drivers prepare for possible trip issues.

Another issue with this app update is the last trip cost blocking surge pricing. We see the cost of the last trip, which is unnecessary and unhelpful to maximize the full extent of ridesharing. Why do drivers need to be reminded of how much they earned on the last trip? What they need to know is where the next high demand/surge area will be and how much these rides are going to pay out.

There you have it. The latest Uber app update is unsuccessful to improve the ridesharing experience. The best update is the position the client name and the time on top. Include the "En Route" and "On Trip" on the bottom of screen. Allow driver access to client rating and surge pricing. Remove the white box showing last trip cost; this blocks the surge pricing indicator. Do away with swiping, a Lyft knockoff. Bring back the "just arrived" button to notify client of driver arrival.

Most importantly, include a tipping feature. Uber is far behind Lyft and Sidecar for refusing to update their app with a tipping option to reward drivers. Clients complained time and time again for Uber not including a tip button. How many thousands are lost per driver per year? Uber took away the $1 safe ride fee, probably detecting this simple one dollar could in fact bring in millions per year. Drivers are working hard, but seeing less of their earnings. The recent 15% reduction in East Bay and South Bay impacted driver earnings. There is too much to debate, right now, on what is wrong with ridesharing.

Keep your eyes open. The new app update slows the ridesharing process down. It creates risk factors. Unfortunately, this update complicates the ease of ridesharing through shifting the eyes from up to down. In our honest opinion, drivers must look up and never down.